Amos Anderson’s Italian-style classicist villa stands amid a large apple orchard in Kimitoön (also known as Kimito Island and Kemiönsaari). The main building displays art from the Amos Rex collection, featuring artists such as Sigrid Schauman, Rafael Wardi, Sulho Sipilä and Ellen Thesleff.
Söderlångvik Museum re-opens on 3 June 2021 after a hiatus of more than two years. Now meticulously restored, the building showcases a selection of works from Amos Rex’s modern art collection, set amid Amos Anderson’soriginal interiors. The place breathes with the atmosphere of the 1930s when Anderson converted the nineteenth-century country house into an Italian-style classicist villa. The manorial garden, designed by Paul Olsson, has also been rejuvenated and restored, including its fountain and colonnade.
Through New Eyes opening exhibition showcases Amos Rex collection
To celebrate the re-opening of Söderlångvik’s main building, the museum presents the exhibition Through New Eyes. It features more than 100 Finnish paintings and sculptures from the Amos Rex collection, mostly from the first half of the twentieth century.
Some of the works are familiar from Amos Anderson’s own collection while others are gems from the Amos Rex collections that have not previously been shown at Söderlångvik. The works in the exhibition have been carefully chosen to suit the atmosphere and interior design of each room. The artists include Sigrid Schauman, Rafael Wardi, Sulho Sipilä, Santeri Salokivi, Ragnar Ekelund, Alvar Cawén and Ellen Thesleff.
Museum visitors can now also see parts of the mansion that have not previously been open to the public such as the chauffeur’s room and the cinema in the basement, as well as new exhibition rooms that provide information about Amos Anderson and Söderlångvik as well as the works in the opening exhibition and how they have been conserved. You can also explore Söderlångvik with a new audio guide and daily guided tours in July. The museum is open daily 11 am-5 pm until the end of September (except Midsummer weekend, 25-27 June).
A new book on Söderlångvik will be published in Finnish and Swedish, entitled Amos Anderson’s Söderlångvik. It sheds light on Anderson’s relationship with Kimitoön, on Söderlångvik’s architecture, the museum’s history, the Söderlångvik estate’s businesses and the just-completed renovation.
This summer, the Manor’s restaurant Café Söderlångvik features an exhibition of culinary-themed paintings by Paul Osipow(b. 1939). Also on display will be previously-unseen graphic works by the artist.
In July a boat route will being operating three times a week from Hanko to Söderlångvik, continuing once a week on to Pargas (Parainen). A ship route is also planned from Turku to Söderlångvik.
Press photos: media.amosrex.fi (Requires registration)
Söderlångvik Manor (events, outings, nature trails, restaurant etc)
Hanna Vuorio-Wilson, Coordinator
+358 40 562 2198, email@example.com
Amos Rex collections and Söderlångvik Museum (museum operations and art)
Kaj Martin, Head of Collections
+358 50 523 1343, firstname.lastname@example.org
Iia Palovaara, Head of Communications
+358 (0)50 544 3331, email@example.com